The 5th PIAIM Nepal Film Festival concluded with a grand ceremony honoring veteran actress Bhuban Chand for her long-standing contribution to the industry. The cultural event, held at the cultural institute for three days, presented awards to the best films, artists, and professionals from various genres. Aryan Sigdel and Pramila Karki received the Best Actor and Actress awards respectively. Sigdel was honored for his performance in the film “December Falls,” while Karki received recognition for her role in the film “Bagan.

“Similarly, Samrat Basnet was awarded the Best Feature Film Director for his film “Lakhe,” while director Dinesh Raut received the Best Feature Film award for his work on the film “Prakash.”

Bikash Subedi was honored as the Best Feature Film Writer and Samir Miyan received the Best VFX Artist award. The Jury Award for Best Feature Film went to “Film Numberi Sun,” the Jury Award for Best Film Director was given to Kamal Ekchai Magar for “Film Deshan,” and Rohit Rumba received the Jury Award for Best Actor for his performance in the film “Lakhe.” The Best Short  Film award went to “Aina,” and the Best Documentary Film award was presented to “Appleng La Namsha” directed by Shekhar Lama.

Similarly, “Madhesi Putra 2” was awarded the Best Bhojpuri Film, Bikram Gupta received the award for “Maithili Film Samay Ke Khela,” and Rozin Maharajan was honored with the Cinema Higher Education Nepali Language Film Award. At the ceremony, Kuber Giri received the Best Film Journalist award, and Krishna Kandel was awarded the Best Entertainment Journalist. Various artists who made outstanding contributions in different fields were also recognized at the event. Director Rishiraj Acharya, actor Tej Giri, journalist Deepak Bihin, film journalist Sachit Khadka, folk singer Ramkumar Nepali, and folk singer Amrit Bharati were among those honored at the ceremony.

The decision-making committee, chaired by Director Madhab Raj Kharel, included film journalist Bijay Ratna Tuladhar, film journalist Bisnu Subedi, folk singer Kulendra Bishwokarma, singer Shiva Pariyar, makeup artist Bikram Gautam, journalist Dirgha Raj Upadhyay, journalist Kamal Nath Adhikari, and film archivist Chiranjeevi Guragain. According to coordinator Kharel, the selection committee made the decision for the Best awards based on various criteria among the films officially included.

In the concluding ceremony of the Power Nepal International Media Nepal under the chairmanship of advisor Shantipriya, senior musician Shambhujit Banskota, veteran actress Basundhara Bhusal, veteran actress Chaitadevi Singh, Lyricist Of National Anthem Of Nepal Byakul Malla, and Film artist association Nepal president Mohan Niroula were present. Also present were Samir Balami, president of the Film Journalists Association, Janak Karki, president of the Film Artists Association, senior director Rishi Lamicchane, film director Suchitra Shrestha, renowned singer Devika Bandana, singer Sitaram Pokharel, artists Rashmi Bhatt and Pravan Bhushal. journalists Jeevan Parajuli, Shreedev B.L, Dinesh Pakhrin, Tulsi Giri Bhauk, Baburam Sigdel, Geeta Adhikari, Dabbu Kahetri, etc.

Addressing the program, the director of the festival, Kamala Joshi, said that the festival is becoming more grand every year and mentioned that in the upcoming years, the festival will be even more splendid. She said that everyone has embraced every edition of the festival because they are very careful in making the awards impartial. Similarly, senior musician Shambhujit Banskota said that he doesn’t need to say much because each edition of the festival speaks for itself. Officially selected feature films and short films were screened in the festival inaugurated by the Vice President of the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal, Paramananda Jha, on Wednesday.

The program showcased unique cultural presentations by popular singer Kulendra Bishwakarma, renowned singer Amrit Khati, Tika Baman, Ram Kumar Nepali, Amrit Bharati, and other artists.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here